NPR’s Short Wave Podcast: Producer, reporter and fact checker

Anthropocene: Biodiversity blogger

PBS Digital Studios: It’s Okay To Be Smart: Script Writer

ScIU: Conversations in Science @ Indiana University: Co-founder, writer, editor and event organizer

  • Lead organizer of first annual Science Communication Symposium

NPR Scicommers: Program coordinator and social media manager

  • Organizer monthly virtual events for science communication community
  • Facilitated monthly office hours writing program
  • Slack engagement officer for 1500+ person discussion board

Briscoe Teaching Fellow

  • Designed, taught and assessed college-level chemistry course through funded fellowship

Massive Science Consortium: Member and contributor

Highlighted Work


Indiana University (relocated from Montana State)    2012-2018

  • Ph.D. in Biochemistry; Biomaterials minor
  • Research focus on repurposing viruses as nanomaterials
  • Co-author on 8 peer-reviewed publications

Western State Colorado University (Transferred from St. Charles CC) 2008-2011   GPA: 3.78

  • B.A. in Cellular Biology and Biopsychology; Chemistry and Philosophy minors
  • Worked 3 research projects in diverse disciplines (chemistry, behavioral psychology, animal psychology)

Awards & Acknowledgements

2019         AAAS Mass Media Fellowship Recipient

2018         AAAS Mass Media Fellowship Semifinalist

2017         Outstanding Poster Award, Symp on Materials Research Indiana University

2017         Melba Phillips Award for Women in Science, WMWIN, Bloomington, IN

2015         Achievements of Women in STIM Poster Award, CEWiT, Indiana University

2014/15    IUB Provost’s Travel Award for Women in Science, Indiana University

2012         Meritorious Graduate Fellowship, Montana State University

2011         Alumni Award for Excellence, Western State Colorado University

Professional Associations

  • National Association of Science Writers
  • Northwest Science Writers Association
  • Science Writers of the Rocky Mountains
  • American Association for the Advancement of Science